top of page
  • Writer's picturegileslury

Variety is the spice of life


A number of people have been intrigued about this mythical lake that I seem to disappear off to week after week. The main question that seems to be in their mind is why do I keep going back to the same place, time and time again?

After a while, curiosity gets the better of them and they ask if they can come too.

The latest two who decided they had to see for themselves was one of my sons and his girlfriend and they joined me on a trip this Saturday.

I think they thought that all I generally did was take pictures of birds, which I do, but I also look at and enjoy so much more. There is then the fact that as time passes, and seasons change so does what you see.

Yesterday was a day with the yellow irises in bloom,


butterflies and damselflies flitting around



and cute little ducklings and goslings.




There were also young grebes being fed by their parents



Elegant egrets



(better seen through the binoculars they were using!)

Lots of tufted ducks

Gadwalls feeding


And common terns post sitting



Lots of other flora


However, for my son and his girlfriend the high point was spotting a turtle, a Japanese Pond Turtle according to Google, sunning itself on a lakeside tree trunk.

I don’t think my son and his girlfriend will be back regularly but I do think they now have a better understanding of why I’m a regular visitor.


Perhaps you should visit too https://www.fosl.org.uk/visit-stockers-lake


46 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page